Arliss   Building & Construction                  

Copyright Arliss Building & Construction. All rights reserved. 

Ratings & Reviews - Home Advisor Screened and Verified
Date Rating Review


* * * * * 5-Star Rating in Quality, Customer Service, Value for Money


10/18/20175.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by John D. in Ontario, NY
Project: Install a Retaining Wall
Comments: Sean and his crew were very professional and the job they did was excellent!! On time and on budget!!! I would highly recommend Arliss Building and Construction and the next project we have, we'll be calling Arliss!!


06/14/20175.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by James E. in Penfield, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: Sean & his crew were always on-time to the job site. Our deck is amazing and Sean was very helpful in picking the right wood, designing it to our specifications and made subtle changes that we asked for on the fly. It was a pleasure doing business with Arliss and I would DEFINITELY hire them again and recommend them to anyone. Thanks Sean and Crew!!!!!

04/27/20175.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Review by Michelle M. in Sodus Point, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: Mr. Arliss was wonderful to work with. He was prompt coming to work and explained as he was going what was happening. He went above and beyond in the building of my porch and handicap ramp.

11/14/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Joann H. in Sodus Point, NY
Project: Install a Brick, Stone or Block Wall
Comments: Arliss building tore down and built a new retaining wall and stairs and fully met all our expectations. It looks beautiful! Sean and his team (Dylan and Randy) are professional and very customer focused. Sean solicited my feedback throughout the project and was very flexible in accommodating changes I requested. The job was completed per schedule and budget. I would definitely hire Arliss Building for future projects.

07/28/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Lona B. in Palmyra, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: After contacting two clients for whom he'd done similar work and visiting the one site, we hired Sean to construct a deck on the back of our raised ranch, a dream for the entire 37 years we've lived in our home. Because we'd had a bad experience over this past year with a contractor, we were reluctant and "picky." We needn't have been concerned! Sean is professional and reliable; he set a reasonable schedule that was agreeable to us and did everything in his power to stick to that. He's honest and flexible. When I asked him to alter a dimension he went out of his way to do so saying, "It's better for me to spend a couple of hours changing it than to have you spend decades wishing I had." He's personable and simply a joy to have worked with! He and his wife make a wonderful team. Laura is easy to reach, answered questions I had and honestly made things easier for both Sean and us. Would we hire Sean again? You bet we would! You should too.

07/20/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Elena K. in Fairport, NY
Project: Install a Brick, Stone or Block Wall
Comments: Very reliable and professional. Highly recommended!

06/28/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by a Homeowner in Fairport, NY
Project: Install Concrete Patios, Walks and Steps
Comments: We hired Sean to put in a concrete walkway and it came out better than we expected in less time than thought. At the same time we were getting our kitchen floor replaced and the installers up and left! I reached out to Sean to see if there was anything he could do and it was a great decision! 2 days later we had our floors installed and couldn't be happier with the outcome. He does excellent work and we will be using him in the future for other projects.

06/03/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Jim P. in Victor, NY
Project: Repair a Brick, Stone or Block Wall
Comments: Sean was most accommodating and finished the job well ahead of schedule.

04/08/20165.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by John Y. in Bloomfield, NY
Project: Install Wood or Stone Laminate Flooring
Comments: Responded to our search on Home Advisor with no delay. looked at our choice of material and agreed could work with it. We had sudden sickness and he agreed to delay work for three weeks. Predelivered material week before work was to begin with no problems. Did excellent work and explained why he was doing certain items. Was on time and within budget cleaned up every day. Thinking of asking to return to do work on deck later this year.

09/12/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Valerie A. in Macedon, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: I had a long list of jobs to accomplish this year. I started in April, contacting different contractors regarding my needs (gutters, fence, deck, doors, windows, etc). After the very difficult winter we had, good companies were extremely busy helping those struggling with winter damage ... thus delaying summer jobs. Many contractors came for estimates ... most never sent back estimates or if they did, their prices were crazy ... and most weren't interested in doing the work as my family preferred (instead of our choice of doors, windows, needs of the deck and fence ... THEY would tell us what was best for us, etc). I found Sean through HomeAdvisor, and he came out to meet with me about the fence and the deck, and I received his estimate when he said it would arrive. I then became overwhelmed with the volume of other contractors ... calling individuals to do each individual job. Sean checked back with me in a few weeks ... at which point I had changed my mind regarding the deck design and learned that he could also help me with the kitchen window and living room bay window replacement ... replacing the two pedestrian doors in the garage (one with a dog door) ... and the gutters. He sent me a new estimate that was very reasonable. His wife Laura handles the office part of the business, and she is a delight to work with. She calls when she says she will, she handles the permits, the scheduling, everything that doesn't include a hammer! Sean gave me a schedule of his work, and he stuck to it. Many of the days were in the 90's, and I felt badly for his working in the high heat, but his work ethic is unending. (He reminds me that he grew up on a farm, and 90 is nothing compared to how hot it got on the farm!) I am a morning person, and loved hearing him start up early. He is honest and hides nothing. He stops periodically during the project to make sure that what he is building, is as we envisioned it. He works quietly and cleans up after his work each day. He works to make the most out the job without spending the most amount of money possible. Sean has this ability to listen to our needs, and then create something that not only meets our needs, but exceeds them. I had concerns about the gutters ... and the deck had specific needs because of dogs, neighbors, and a hot tub. Everything Sean did, greatly exceeded my expectations. It was very exciting to come home from work each day, and every day I was blown away with how amazing his work was.

07/20/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Felicia H. in Penfield, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: Sean was stellar! He explained in detail the scope of work as well as timelines. He was on site at 7am every day and worked quickly and efficiently. Not only was the main work above and beyond our expectations, he also provided great attention to detail. As well, he was always professional and courteous with a positive can-do attitude. Would recommend him for any job!

06/24/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Chris K. in Macedon, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: It was a pleasure to deal and contract with people who understand the value of meaningful work, sticking to the scheduled date, always on time and a perfectionist! I would highly recommend Shaun as he knows what true Customer Service is and the quality of work delivered will definately hire for other jobs !

06/09/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Louis R. in Macedon, NY
Project: Repair a Deck or Porch
Comments: Sean was fantastic. He kept us informed thru the whole project. Not only did he do a fantastic job but he kept it under budget. I would use him again for any home repair. In fact he will be partitioning and building a shelf system in my basement.

06/01/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Mary beth H. in Webster, NY
Project: Clean and Seal Decks, Fences, Patios, Drives, or Porches
Comments: Sean was very professional. He worked diligently to help me match a color for the fence to the gazebo that had been stained previously. His work was very good & I would highly recommend him to others for their staining needs!

05/30/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Doug F. in Clyde, NY
Project: Landscape Yard or Gardens
Comments: Randy did the "basics" /heavy lifting for me. I'm finishing as a hobby.

05/27/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 4.5
Review by Michael B. in Canandaigua, NY
Project: Repair a Deck or Porch
Comments: If Sean Arliss is at your door to do a job, consider yourself lucky and hire him. Our new porch looks amazing. His attention to detail is impressive. It took him a little longer than he anticipated but he persevered and stuck to his proposal.

05/18/20155.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Dan M. in Penfield, NY
Project: Build or Replace a Deck or Non-Masonry Porch
Comments: They were in and out in four days, quality work did not overcharge for extra work that could not be anticipated.

05/04/20154.5
Quality: 4.5
Customer Service: 4.5
Value for Money: 4.5
Review by Danny J. in Webster, NY
Project: Repair a Deck or Porch
Comments: He does good work and I am having him come back at the end of summer to replace a couple of more decking.


01/27/2017
Quality: 4.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 3.5
Review by Martie S. in VICTOR, NY
Project: Install Wood or Stone Laminate Flooring
Comments: Sean was very easy to work with and was always on time each day. He took the time to do the work right, which created some project delays, but we appreciated his attention to detail.